Just the Facts, Ma'am

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

The Call Box: Marilyn Monroe’s Funeral

By Ed Meckle, Retired LAPD

lapd callboxHow I came to star opposite Marilyn Monroe in her last film. Well, sort of.

Marilyn died August 5, 1962 and was interred August 8 at Westwood Memorial Park. It’s a very, very high-priced piece of real estate, eternal home to some formerly powerful people. I, along with five or six other policemen, was assigned crowd control. No one knew how many people were expected but we assumed a quiet, respectful group.

 

My post was on a lawn approximately 75-80 yards from the crypt. My share of the crowd was separated from me by a low wall. They were mostly tourists and watched very intently but, as expected, respectfully.

 

-Westwood_Village_Memorial_Park_Cemetery_view_to_northeastA middle-aged woman identified herself as part of a group from Des Moines and asked me if I could point out anyone important for her to film with her home movie camera. A large sun shade had been set up at the crypt due to the August heat and the area was in shade. Joe DiMaggio was easy, as was his son in military uniform, but as to the balance of the mourners, I had not a clue. (I found out later services were by invite only and restricted to 25-30 people.)

At this point, Ms. Des Moines asked me a question I could not pass up.

She: I understand Marilyn’s first husband was a Los Angeles police officer. Do you know if he is here?”

Marilyn MonroeNow, the devil took hold of my being and I had no control over what happened next.

I put on the saddest face I could muster, bit my lip, dabbed at my eyes and with a big sigh turned away from her. I heard a murmur from the crowd and looked back to see several of them filming me.

Now I never, ever, said who I was but just let her think whatever she wanted to. And run with it.

I can only imagine I am the star of someone’s home movie in Iowa. And with apologies to Bogart and Casablanca: “We will always have Des Moines.”

 

3 comments on “The Call Box: Marilyn Monroe’s Funeral

  1. marilynm
    April 12, 2017

    Love these, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lapd16336
    April 12, 2017

    Thanks Ed, I really enjoyed this one!

    Like

  3. mmgornell
    April 13, 2017

    Loved it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2017 by in The Call Box and tagged , , , , , .

Cop Talk

For all things about cop culture-the work, the family, the days off.

The purpose of this page is to educate writers of all genres to be accurate in their portrayal of law enforcement professionals. This includes meter maids (I was a "lovely Rita" many years ago), dispatcher, patrol officers, detectives, and administrators.

I have many resources in my 35 year career in California law enforcement. I index and explain common errors that found in all media. Guests will also post about police professionalism today and tomorrow as well as historical articles about the way things used to be, "back in the day".

Examples of police media myths: missing persons cannot be reported by anyone but the family; missing persons reports can't be taken until the subject has been missing 24 hours; all cops eat donuts.

You get my drift.

Goodreads

Schedule

Just the Facts, Ma'am posts Sundays and Wednesdays. Guest writers Gerry Goldshine, Hal Collier, Melissa Kositzin and sometime Woody Hoke take us through the days and nights of those who protect and serve. Extra postings will include California 'Officer Down' notices or something special. I will update progress of my current literary project as they develop. --Thonie Hevron

Just the Facts, Ma’am copyright

© Thonie Hevron, Just the Facts, Ma'am 2010-present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Thonie Hevron with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you.

Categories

Fictionophile

Bookblogger, Fiction book reviews, author interviews, mystery series, cover, love, bookish thoughts...

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Stories by The Spotlight on Medium

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

So you wanna be a cop?

Real world information for those looking for employment in Law Enforcement and Corrections and advice and stories from a veteran cop.

Donut County Cop

Random thoughts of a suburban cop at a department right outside a major US city...because blogging is cheaper than therapy.

Cop Musings

Thoughts From Behind the Badge

DAVE FREEDLAND

Author of Crime Mysteries & Suspense

The NW Fire Blog

"Fire News in the NW and Beyond"

The author's Blog

Discussions, Interviews, Suggestions for Writers

Hook'em and Book'em

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

clswinney.wordpress.com/

#1 International Bestselling Author of true crime.

Just the Facts, Ma'am

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

Horse Listening

Horses. Riding. Life.

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

