Just the Facts, Ma'am

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

This Job is Killing Me

By Thonie Hevron

home-office-The jury is in: sitting is the new smoking; it’s hazardous to your health. And what do writers do? Sit and write. I’d stay in my chair all day if I didn’t have reminders to get up and get moving.

June’s topic is “This Job is Killing Me.” Odd title for a piece on writing? Well, not really. When I was at work in the 70’s and 80’s, I was trim and three dress sizes smaller. I wore a uniform, walked a lot, and was in and out of my car. In the mid-80’s, I changed jobs and came inside, mostly as a dispatcher. Then, the pounds added up. Dispatching is a sedentary job as is writing. While I’ve been a fitness addict for decades, I still gained weight. It got even worse when I quit smoking. So now I’m facing some ugly truths: I must do something to fix this weight gain. I just started a helpful weight management program and feel like although I’m making progress, I know this isn’t the sole answer. I have to move.

I’ve had Fitbits in the past but this month, my hubby gave me a Fitbit Charge 2 for my birthday. Just what I needed. No, really. I remember lying in bed as a child, counting things. So, I’m prone to counting. That’s a good thing as a Fitbit user: the device does the actual counting for you. It includes heart rate, steps, get up and move reminders. The best part is setting a goal, say 7500 steps in a day—and achieving it. I don’t need the little fireworks on the screen to feel accomplished. To see the numbers is enough.

And how can this help, you ask?

The Centers for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) advise adults to get at least 150 minutes a week of moderate to intense aerobic activity (or about 20 minutes a day) plus two days of muscle-strengthening activity. Yet the CDC estimates that nearly 80 percent of Americans don’t meet these recommendations.

walkingjpgI mentioned above that I recently began a weight loss program. I like it because it is a long-term change to my behavior. When I began it 7 weeks ago, I vowed to exercise four days a week with weights (20 minutes a session) and walk six days a week. With the exception of some traveling and a stinking cold, I have kept this up. And guess what? My weight is lower—not by much, but it is going down. And I’ve lost inches! But most important, last week when I knelt down to get something deep in the under-sink cabinet, I could. That was a huge incentive.

How and what I eat as well as how and when I move have become important. Weight Watchers and other programs can do the same. Take a look at what works for you. Some can simply count calories, others need more structure and support. While related to fitness, food is a different topic that I won’t explore here. It’s moving, breathing, running, stretching, that have me excited.

As for writing: Exercise is also one of the most effective ways to improve your mental health. Regular exercise can have a profoundly positive impact on depression, anxiety, ADHD, and more. It also relieves stress, improves memory, helps you sleep better, and boosts overall mood. Huffpost’s article suggests exercise increases creativity.

I can’t help but think all this will help me weave those elusive clues together into a tightly-stitched plot. I get some of my best ideas on a treadmill!

active exerciseBelow, I’ve included a few links to articles for those who don’t like or don’t have time to work out. Check them out and I’ll bet you can find something that will work for you.

Your life could depend on it.

10 Ways to Sneak Fitness into Your Day-this one is for our senior readers

Dr. Axe’s Exercise Hacks

8 Steps to Fitness for Writers

On June 9th, Dave Freedlander, author of Lincoln 9 will offer his insights into the sport that kept him trim and fit into his sixties.

7 comments on “This Job is Killing Me

  1. marilynm
    June 2, 2017

    Good for you, Thonie. I do too much sitting too, but try to get up and walk up and down my hall–very long–at various time. Not enough, I know, but I can’t go out and walk on uneven ground anymore.

    Like

    • Thonie Hevron
      June 2, 2017

      Keep it up, Marilyn. Walking any distance helps your cardiovascular system. We know writing is all about heart!

      Like

  2. lapd16336
    June 2, 2017

    Well said Thonie, It’s common when you pass age 50, It’s just gets harder to keep active especially if you have had any injures.

    Like

  3. John Schick
    June 2, 2017

    i NEVER smoked. It killed my mother & my sister. Not hard to figure out smoking paid no dividends. I gave up the uniform in 2000, and took a desk job. Best move I ever made, but I knew it was a weight gain opportunity. Therefore, I walked whenever I could. Chino Men’s Prison is a HUGE place. Instead of driving to get
    what I needed I’d walk. The numerous pot lucks, farewells, and daily donut deliveries didn’t help my resolve. My job had many aspects to it. It usually offered
    time to move around. As a dispatcher you were stuck all through your shift. Glad
    I escaped that. In fact I had occasions where I could leave the institution to inspect
    police reports I needed, and interview LEO’s to complete my reports. My job was the best kept secret in California!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Schick
    June 2, 2017

    Opps! I meant WOULD’NT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2017 by in Writer's Notes and tagged , , , , , .

Cop Talk

For all things about cop culture-the work, the family, the days off.

The purpose of this page is to educate writers of all genres to be accurate in their portrayal of law enforcement professionals. This includes meter maids (I was a "lovely Rita" many years ago), dispatcher, patrol officers, detectives, and administrators.

I have many resources in my 35 year career in California law enforcement. I index and explain common errors that found in all media. Guests will also post about police professionalism today and tomorrow as well as historical articles about the way things used to be, "back in the day".

Examples of police media myths: missing persons cannot be reported by anyone but the family; missing persons reports can't be taken until the subject has been missing 24 hours; all cops eat donuts.

You get my drift.

Goodreads

Schedule

Just the Facts, Ma'am posts Sundays and Wednesdays. Guest writers Gerry Goldshine, Hal Collier, Melissa Kositzin and sometime Woody Hoke take us through the days and nights of those who protect and serve. Extra postings will include California 'Officer Down' notices or something special. I will update progress of my current literary project as they develop. --Thonie Hevron

Just the Facts, Ma’am copyright

© Thonie Hevron, Just the Facts, Ma'am 2010-present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Thonie Hevron with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you.

Categories

Fictionophile

Bookblogger, Fiction book reviews, author interviews, mystery series, cover, love, bookish thoughts...

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Stories by The Spotlight on Medium

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

So you wanna be a cop?

Real world information for those looking for employment in Law Enforcement and Corrections and advice and stories from a veteran cop.

Donut County Cop

Random thoughts of a suburban cop at a department right outside a major US city...because blogging is cheaper than therapy.

Cop Musings

Thoughts From Behind the Badge

DAVE FREEDLAND

Author of Crime Mysteries & Suspense

The NW Fire Blog

"Fire News in the NW and Beyond"

The author's Blog

Discussions, Interviews, Suggestions for Writers

Hook'em and Book'em

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

clswinney.wordpress.com/

#1 International Bestselling Author of true crime.

Just the Facts, Ma'am

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

Horse Listening

Horses. Riding. Life.

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

