Just the Facts, Ma'am

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

Writing Rituals: Bob Martin

bob Martin Bronx JusticeIn the Mood (Writing Rituals)

I guess I can best describe what it takes to get me to sit down and write, by referencing the late Glenn Miller’s 1940 big-band hit. I have to be “In the Mood.” I have read dozens of books that established authors have written, describing their writing processes.

“Stick to a schedule-First thing in the morning-Force yourself to write for two hours-Write until you have ten new pages.”

While not knocking that advice, knowing that it works for thousands of writers, I found in penning my first novel, Bronx Justice, those words of wisdom fell on deaf ears. Try as I might, my muse did not join me on these scheduled sessions. Lighting a candle, listening to classical music, doing some meditation. No help.

I believe that a big part of that problem was that I had no deadline to finish the book. Hard as it may be to believe, the major publishing houses were not besieging me with phone calls, e-mails, knocks on my door, asking when this great American novel would be completed.

When friends, who knew I was working on the book would ask, “When will you be finished?”

I would answer, “May.”

“This coming May?”

“No, I May finish before I die.”

One very positive blessing I had in completing the book was to meet Vincent Lardo, a writer with six New York Times Best Sellers to his credit. Vincent urged me to join the Ashawagh Hall Writers Workshop, a very prestigious Long Island, New York, writers group, led by renowned author, Marijane Meaker, who published under the pen-name M.E. Kerr.

Marijane’s lists of literary awards are too numerous to mention. She was an inspiration to this first-time author, without doubt, helping me drag Bronx Justice to the finish line.

The number one reason this happened? DEADLINES. Marijane, who was in her mid-80s, at the time, would look at her schedule book, peer over her granny-glasses.

“Bob, November fifth, you’re reading. I want twelve new pages.” No if, ands or buts. If one wanted to stay in this elite group, one came in with the twelve new pages. This process worked for me. I had been working haphazardly on the book for almost eight years. Sometimes, it sat in a drawer, untouched, for many months. Now, with Marijane’s pushing, and inspired by the great writers in the group, most of them published authors, I had a goal. No longer a dream-I was going to finish my book.

Now is when the Glenn Miller tune really kicked in. When I got “In the Mood,” I would write for many hours at a clip.

My wife would knock on my study door. “Dinner will be ready in twenty-minutes.”

“Babe, I’m in the zone. Can we make it an hour?”

Usually, the answer was “Yes.” If not, “I’ll leave it out. You can microwave it when you’re done, Mr. Hemingway.”

I would share with those who participate in writers’ groups, the words that Marijane often used when delivering a critique.

“I don’t like that. (word/sentence/paragraph.) But, that’s just my opinion. Your name’s

going to be on the book’s cover.”

So, while advice from others is extremely helpful, in the end, it’s your book.

Hope you get “In the Mood,” and write it!

~~~

Bob MartinBob Martin served the NYPD for 32 years in a wide variety of commands. These include the fabled Tactical Patrol Force (TPF), the Street Crime Unit, Mounted Unit, the 72nd, 69th, 6th Precincts, Queens and Bronx Detectives, and finally as the CO of the Special Investigations Division. Martin was a charter member and played for a dozen years with the NYPD’s Finest Football Team. He served for twelve years on the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) “ Committee on Terrorism” and traveled extensively, in this country and abroad, speaking on the subject. He retired as a Deputy Inspector in 2000 and began writing. In 2004, he led a law enforcement mission to Israel. His stories have been published in numerous magazines and newspapers. Bronx Justice, based on an actual case, is his first novel.

Bronx Justice on Amazon

 

 

 

 

6 comments on “Writing Rituals: Bob Martin

  1. Jo Lauer
    August 18, 2017

    I was right there with you, Bob, being another “In The Mood” writer myself. Right up until you said “deadline.” YIKES! I’ve not yet had to deal with one of those. Do I feel a panic attack coming on?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bob Martin
      August 18, 2017

      Jo-
      The dreaded “Deadline” is what a slug like myself needed to drag “Bronx Justice” over the finish line. Looks like you are not one who needs the “DL” push. Congrats on your many accomplishments.

      Bob

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thonie Hevron
      August 19, 2017

      I doubt it. You’re a professional, now at another “thing.” Same principles apply, right?

      Like

  2. mmgornell
    August 19, 2017

    So agree with, “So, while advice from others is extremely helpful, in the end, it’s your book.” I’d add to that thought, writing can be fun, it you do it your way ((sort of a song title(smile))–which sometimes means being in the “Mood.” Excellent post, Bob.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bob Martin
      August 19, 2017

      Thanks, Maddie!

      Like

  3. Thonie Hevron
    August 19, 2017

    Thanks for your comment, Maddie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2017 by in Writer's Notes and tagged , , , .

Cop Talk

For all things about cop culture-the work, the family, the days off.

The purpose of this page is to educate writers of all genres to be accurate in their portrayal of law enforcement professionals. This includes meter maids (I was a "lovely Rita" many years ago), dispatcher, patrol officers, detectives, and administrators.

I have many resources in my 35 year career in California law enforcement. I index and explain common errors that found in all media. Guests will also post about police professionalism today and tomorrow as well as historical articles about the way things used to be, "back in the day".

Examples of police media myths: missing persons cannot be reported by anyone but the family; missing persons reports can't be taken until the subject has been missing 24 hours; all cops eat donuts.

You get my drift.

Goodreads

Schedule

Just the Facts, Ma'am posts Sundays and Fridays. Sundays scheduled writers Hal Collier, Ed Meckle, Mikey, and John Schick take us through the days and nights of those who protect and serve.
Friday postings feature authors sharing their thoughts about this journey we call authorship.
Extra postings will include California 'Officer Down' notices or something special. I will update progress of my current literary project as they develop.
--Thonie Hevron

Just the Facts, Ma’am copyright

© Thonie Hevron, Just the Facts, Ma'am 2010-present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Thonie Hevron with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you.

Categories

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Fictionophile

Bookblogger, Fiction book reviews, books, author interviews, mystery series, cover, love, bookish thoughts...

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Stories by The Spotlight on Medium

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

So you wanna be a cop?

Real world information for those looking for employment in Law Enforcement and Corrections and advice and stories from a veteran cop.

Donut County Cop

Random thoughts of a suburban cop at a department right outside a major US city...because blogging is cheaper than therapy.

Cop Musings

Thoughts From Behind the Badge

DAVE FREEDLAND

Author of Crime Mysteries & Suspense

NW Fire Blog

"Fire News in the NW and Beyond"

The author's Blog

Discussions, Interviews, Suggestions for Writers

Hook'em and Book'em

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

clswinney.wordpress.com/

#1 International Bestselling Author of true crime.

Just the Facts, Ma'am

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

Horse Listening

Horses. Riding. Life.

