Just the Facts, Ma'am

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

Multi-tasking: Paty Jager

Multi-tasking is a Part of Life by Paty Jager

Haunting Corpse 5x8I would say anyone who isn’t in a coma or traction is a multi-tasker. Life is full of multiple things you have to do every day to live.

But an author has to be a highly skilled multi-tasker. And a self-published author has to be even more so.

For example: I finish a book, it is sent to my critique partners (CPs). While it’s gone, I start planning out the next book, and depending on how long it takes the CPs, I start writing it. I’m on a roll and the first book comes back from the CPs. Now, I need to work on the suggestions they’ve made and send it out to the next level of reader. The manuscript is sent on, and I go back to the book I’d started. Oh! I just heard from a box set I’m in that we need to promote that because the ranking is going down. I do that, and remember that I haven’t promoted the last books in my two series lately. I do that and get back to writing the book.

20171006_155217The first book comes back for more revisions. I’ve been in contact with my cover designer (Covered by CLKeerins http://coveredbyclkeerins.com/) and my eBook cover is ready. When the revisions are done, I send that to my line editor and get back to the second book. Oh, and I’ve been asked to be in another multi-author project. I look at my white board with all my projects and see I can fit it in and agree to that.

I’m writing on book two and the line edits come back. Now I go through book one another time and then format it for eBook. When that’s done, I upload it to the eBook vendors and then make a print format to upload to Ingram Spark. But first I have to let my cover designer know the pages so she can make the print version of the cover. When the inside is formatted, I wait for the cover and write on book two while also promoting the eBooks I just put up on the vendor sites. In some cases, I do a big release party or blog tour but not always. If so, then I would be arranging that while I was writing book one.

Oh, and I forgot- while spending 6-8 hours a day at the writing career, I’m also feeding horses twice a day, letting dogs in and out of the house, feeding my husband three meals, doing laundry, cleaning house, and I’m at my husband’s beck and call to help with haying, fixing irrigation pipes, and any task he has that requires extra hands. And quite often entertaining family and friends or traveling to workshops and conferences.

Multi-tasking is a part of everyday life.

~~~

Haunting Corpse- book 9 in the Shandra Higheagle Mystery series (https://www.patyjager.net/mystery.html)

Desertion…Wrath…Murder
A runaway bride, murder, and arson has Shandra Higheagle sleuthing again. Sorting through the debris of her best friend’s childhood, Shandra believes she must solve the murder before her friend becomes the next victim.
Stumbling upon a dead body, Detective Ryan Greer is determined to bring the killer to justice before Shandra becomes too entangled in her friend’s dysfunctional past. He hopes he’s not too late. Her deceased grandmother has already visited her dreams, putting Shandra in the middle of his investigation and danger.

Universal buy link- https://www.books2read.com/u/3J0ZWX

Paty Jager 2017 (314x400)Paty Jager is an award-winning author of 32 novels, 6 novellas, and numerous anthologies of murder mystery, western romance, and action adventure. All her work has Western or Native American elements in them along with hints of humor and engaging characters. This is what Mysteries Etc says about her Shandra Higheagle mystery series: “Mystery, romance, small town, and Native American heritage combine to make a compelling read.”
blog / website / Facebook / Paty’s Posse / Goodreads / Twitter / Pinterest

 

 

6 comments on “Multi-tasking: Paty Jager

  1. patyjag
    October 27, 2017

    Thanks for having me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thonie Hevron
    October 27, 2017

    It’s always a pleasure, Paty. I never walk away empty from your posts!!

    Like

    • patyjag
      October 28, 2017

      That’s good to know Thonie! Sometimes I’m not sure what I’m writing has any relevance to anyone but me.

      Like

  3. marilynm
    October 28, 2017

    Hi, Paty, I can so relate!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. patyjag
    October 28, 2017

    Hi Marilynn, Thanks for stopping in! Life is one big juggling match most of the time.

    Like

  5. kaitcarson
    October 28, 2017

    You give me hope Paty – and make me feel a bit like a slacker! We don’t have horses…yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2017 by in Writer's Notes.

Cop Talk

For all things about cop culture-the work, the family, the days off.

The purpose of this page is to educate writers of all genres to be accurate in their portrayal of law enforcement professionals. This includes meter maids (I was a "lovely Rita" many years ago), dispatcher, patrol officers, detectives, and administrators.

I have many resources in my 35 year career in California law enforcement. I index and explain common errors that found in all media. Guests will also post about police professionalism today and tomorrow as well as historical articles about the way things used to be, "back in the day".

Examples of police media myths: missing persons cannot be reported by anyone but the family; missing persons reports can't be taken until the subject has been missing 24 hours; all cops eat donuts.

You get my drift.

Goodreads

Schedule

Just the Facts, Ma'am posts Sundays and Fridays. Sundays scheduled writers Hal Collier, Ed Meckle, Mikey, and John Schick take us through the days and nights of those who protect and serve.
Friday postings feature authors sharing their thoughts about this journey we call authorship.
Extra postings will include California 'Officer Down' notices or something special. I will update progress of my current literary project as they develop.
--Thonie Hevron

Just the Facts, Ma’am copyright

© Thonie Hevron, Just the Facts, Ma'am 2010-present. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Thonie Hevron with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you.

Categories

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Fictionophile

Fiction reviews, Bookblogger, Fiction book reviews, books, crime fiction, author interviews, mystery series, cover, love, bookish thoughts...

Nancy's Notes From Florida

Author Nancy J. Cohen discusses the writing process and life as a Florida resident.

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

RedheadedBooklover

Just a redheaded woman who is obsessed with books

Stories by The Spotlight on Medium

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

So you wanna be a cop?

Real world information for those looking for employment in Law Enforcement and Corrections and advice and stories from a veteran cop.

Donut County Cop

Random thoughts of a suburban cop at a department right outside a major US city...because blogging is cheaper than therapy.

Cop Musings

Thoughts From Behind the Badge

DAVE FREEDLAND

Author of Crime Mysteries & Suspense

NW Fire Blog

"Fire News in the NW and Beyond"

The author's Blog

Discussions, Interviews, Suggestions for Writers

Hook'em and Book'em

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

clswinney.wordpress.com/

#1 International Bestselling Author of true crime.

Just the Facts, Ma'am

Thonie Hevron; bringing you the stories behind the badge

Horse Listening

Horses. Riding. Life.

